Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomePolicingLondon Mayor announces members of London Policing Board set up following Casey...

London Mayor announces members of London Policing Board set up following Casey Report: Board includes Stephen Lawrence’s brother

Sadiq Khan has said representatives from communities with “the lowest levels of trust in the Met” will make up the London Policing Board, which was announced on 23 May of this year, to help the Mayor of London “oversee and scrutinise” the force in line with the recommendation of Baroness Casey.

One of the members of the board will be Stuart Lawrence, the brother of Stephen Lawrence, who was killed in a racially motivated attack while waiting for a bus in Well Hall Road, Eltham on the evening of 22 April 1993, when he was 18 years old.

A 1998 public inquiry, headed by Sir William Macpherson, examined the original Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) investigation into the killing of Stephen Lawrence and concluded that the investigation was incompetent and that the Met was institutionally racist. The publication of the resulting Macpherson Report has been called “one of the most important moments in the modern history of criminal justice in Britain”.

Stephen Lawrence as represented by the Royal Institute of Architects on Facebook on 13 September 2023 to “mark what should have been Stephen Lawrence’s 49th birthday and remember an aspiring architect whose ambition was cut short by a racist attack”

Now Stuart Lawrence will be among those to “oversee” the Met following the Casey Report, another important turning point in the Met’s history, together with retired Metropolitan Police officer Neil Basu, who was once Britain’s most senior non-white officer and who spoke out about racism in policing during the George Floyd protests.

As well as Mr Lawrence and Mr Basu, the board members include Sir John Aston, Tijs Broeke, Nick Campsie, Carolyn Downs, Sayce Holmes-Lewis, Susan Lea, Paula McDonald, Nicola Rollock, Andrea Simon and Leslie Thomas KC.

Deputy mayor for policing and crime Sophie Linden and deputy mayor for communities and social justice Dr Debbie Weekes-Bernard will also sit on the board alongside London’s independent victims’ commissioner Claire Waxman OBE and London Councils’ executive member for community safety and violence against women and girls councillor Jas Athwal.

The board will meet four times a year.

Mr Khan said: “I’ve already put the Met on the path of far-reaching systemic and cultural reform with the appointment of a new commissioner and today’s announcement of the members of the new London Policing Board builds on this.

“This new Board represent a wide and diverse range of outside expertise and lived experiences and will help me oversee and drive the changes in policing that Londoners need and deserve.

“Crucially we have strong representation from those communities who have been let down by the police for far too long and have the lowest levels of trust in the Met.

“Their contribution will be invaluable to driving the reform we need to see to build a safer and fairer London for everyone.”


Stay Connected


Must Read